Staff Directory

Children learn best when their teachers are also active learners. Therefore, teachers and administrators at The Toronto Heschel School attend an annual summer workshop and ongoing professional development provided by the Lola Stein Institute for Leadership in Education, the publishing and teacher training arm of our school.

The school’s Teaching Excellence Fund enables teachers to attend workshops, courses and seminars to learn the best practices in their profession. Each homeroom teacher in the elementary school works jointly in General and Judaic studies. In addition to their professional qualifications, all teachers have skills and talents in either drama, music, dance or visual arts. Teachers in the Junior High have skills in particular subjects and also work in an interdisciplinary manner.

2020-21 Heschel Staff

First Last Position Email Address
Aaron Rotenberg Music Teacher JK-Grade 3 arotenberg@torontoheschel.org
Aiden Orzech Grade 5 Homeroom aorzech@torontoheschel.org
Amir Gershon Grade 7 Judaics agershon@torontoheschel.org
Anat Yannai Grade 2 Homeroom, Judaics ayannai@torontoheschel.org
Bailey Daniels Director of Admissions bdaniels@torontoheschel.org
Caity Lehman Grade 7 Homeroom clehman@torontoheschel.org
Claire Merbaum Director Child Study for Grades 3-8 cmerbaum@torontoheschel.org
Dan Goldberg Grade 6 dgoldberg@torontoheschel.org
Dana Cohen-Ezer Grade 8 General Studies dcohen@torontoheschel.org
Danya Mintz Grade 3 Homeroom dmintz@torontoheschel.org
David Rouimy Physical Education Teacher Grades 3-8 drouimy@torontoheschel.org
Dayna White French dwhite@torontoheschel.org
Edna Sharet Director of Grades 3-8 esharet@torontoheschel.org
Elinor Barak SK Homeroom – Hebrew Lead Teacher ebarak@torontoheschel.org
Eric Cohen Junior High Judaics ecohen@torontoheschel.org
Fabiane Kracjer Administrative Assistant fkracjer@torontoheschel.org
Fernanda Danek Physical Education Teacher Grades JK-Grade 2 fdanek@torontoheschel.org
Galit Babitsky Grade 2 Homeroom gbabitsky@torontoheschel.org
Greg Austin Facilities & IT facilities@torontoheschel.org
Greg Beiles Head of School head@torontoheschel.org
Heidi Friedman Director of Early Years/Primary and Child Study Specialist JK-Grade 2 hfriedman@torontoheschel.org
Hillel Kurlandsky Grade 3 Homeroom hkurlandsky@torontoheschel.org
Isaac Hollander Grade 8 Judaics ihollander@torontoheschel.org
Jaimie Carson Marketing & Communications jcarson@torontoheschel.org
Jenny Braverman Permanent Supply Teacher, Kids Club and Gym Uniforms jbraverman@torontoheschel.org
Josh Winestock Junior High Music jwinestock@torontoheschel.org
Judith Leitner Visual Arts Teacher Grade 1-5 jleitner@torontoheschel.org
Kathy Schwartz JK Homeroom kschwartz@torontoheschel.org
Kati Kovari JK Homeroom kkovari@torontoheschel.org
Lea Amouyal Reception lessonplans@torontoheschel.org
Lesley Cohen Grade 6 Homeroom lcohen@torontoheschel.org
Libby Vainshtein Grade 1 Homeroom lvainshtein@torontoheschel.org
Lisa Rendely Grade 7 Homeroom, Junior High Art lrendely@torontoheschel.org
Malka Regan Grade 4 Homeroom, Director of Social Emotional Learning and Master Teacher mregan@torontoheschel.org
Marisa Reby Director of Development and Community Engagement mreby@torontoheschel.org
Marissa Unruh Grade 5, 6 and 8 Dance munruh@torontoheschel.org
Mark Abramsohn Director Business Operations admin@torontoheschel.org
Maya Lazovski SK Homeroom mlazovski@torontoheschel.org
Nechama Drookman Grade 5 Judaics ndrookman@torontoheschel.org
Okcana Dubov Accounting odubov@torontoheschel.org
Orly Borovitch Grade 4 Homeroom oborovitch@torontoheschel.org
Orly Salamon Grade 3 Homeroom, Judaics osalamon@torontoheschel.org
Pazit Geva JK Hebrew Lead Teacher pgeva@torontoheschel.org
Rachel Tokayer Dance and Yoga Teacher JK-Grade 2 rtokayer@torontoheschel.org
Rachely Tal Grade 1 Homeroom and Judaics Teacher rtal@torontoheschel.org
Rena Cohen Sk Homeroom rcohen@torontoheschel.org
Sarah Kanigsberg SK Homeroom skanigsberg@torontoheschel.org
Sari Herson Grade 1 Homeroom sherson@torontoheschel.org
Sari Ripstein Grade 2 Homeroom sripstein@torontoheschel.org
Shachar Leven Virtual Support sleven@torontoheschel.org
Sharon Furman Grade 6 Homeroom, Judaics sfurman@torontoheschel.org
Shimon Newman Grade 5 Homeroom snewman@torontoheschel.org
Shira Macmull JK Teacher and Visual Arts Teacher JK-Grade 1 smacmull@torontoheschel.org
Shirelle Amouyal Student Services, COVID Lead students@torontoheschel.org covidhelp@torontoheschel.org heschel@torontoheschel.org
Yarden Bourlas Grade 8 Homeroom ybourlas@torontoheschel.org

 

Contact Us