Staff Directory

Children learn best when their teachers are also active learners. Therefore, teachers and administrators at The Toronto Heschel School attend an annual summer workshop and ongoing professional development provided by the Lola Stein Institute for Leadership in Education, the publishing and teacher training arm of our school.

The school’s Teaching Excellence Fund enables teachers to attend workshops, courses and seminars to learn the best practices in their profession. Each homeroom teacher in the elementary school works jointly in General and Judaic studies. In addition to their professional qualifications, all teachers have skills and talents in either drama, music, dance or visual arts. Teachers in the Junior High have skills in particular subjects and also work in an interdisciplinary manner.

2020-21 Heschel Staff

FirstLastPositionEmail Address
AaronRotenbergMusic Teacher JK-Grade 3arotenberg@torontoheschel.org
AidenOrzechGrade 5 Homeroomaorzech@torontoheschel.org
AmirGershonGrade 7 Judaicsagershon@torontoheschel.org
AnatYannaiGrade 2 Homeroom, Judaicsayannai@torontoheschel.org
BaileyDanielsDirector of Admissionsbdaniels@torontoheschel.org
CaityLehmanGrade 7 Homeroomclehman@torontoheschel.org
ClaireMerbaumDirector Child Study for Grades 3-8cmerbaum@torontoheschel.org
DanGoldbergGrade 6dgoldberg@torontoheschel.org
DanaCohen-EzerGrade 8 General Studiesdcohen@torontoheschel.org
DanyaMintzGrade 3 Homeroomdmintz@torontoheschel.org
DavidRouimyPhysical Education Teacher Grades 3-8drouimy@torontoheschel.org
DaynaWhiteFrenchdwhite@torontoheschel.org
EdnaSharetDirector of Grades 3-8esharet@torontoheschel.org
ElinorBarakSK Homeroom – Hebrew Lead Teacherebarak@torontoheschel.org
EricCohenJunior High Judaicsecohen@torontoheschel.org
FabianeKracjerAdministrative Assistantfkracjer@torontoheschel.org
FernandaDanekPhysical Education Teacher Grades JK-Grade 2fdanek@torontoheschel.org
GalitBabitskyGrade 2 Homeroomgbabitsky@torontoheschel.org
GregAustinFacilities & ITfacilities@torontoheschel.org
GregBeilesHead of Schoolhead@torontoheschel.org
HeidiFriedmanDirector of Early Years/Primary and Child Study Specialist JK-Grade 2hfriedman@torontoheschel.org
HillelKurlandskyGrade 3 Homeroomhkurlandsky@torontoheschel.org
IsaacHollanderGrade 8 Judaicsihollander@torontoheschel.org
JaimieCarsonMarketing & Communicationsjcarson@torontoheschel.org
JennyBravermanPermanent Supply Teacher, Kids Club and Gym Uniformsjbraverman@torontoheschel.org
JoshWinestockJunior High Musicjwinestock@torontoheschel.org
JudithLeitnerVisual Arts Teacher Grade 1-5jleitner@torontoheschel.org
KathySchwartzJK Homeroomkschwartz@torontoheschel.org
KatiKovariJK Homeroomkkovari@torontoheschel.org
LeaAmouyalReceptionlessonplans@torontoheschel.org
LesleyCohenGrade 6 Homeroomlcohen@torontoheschel.org
LibbyVainshteinGrade 1 Homeroomlvainshtein@torontoheschel.org
LisaRendelyGrade 7 Homeroom, Junior High Artlrendely@torontoheschel.org
MalkaReganGrade 4 Homeroom, Director of Social Emotional Learning and Master Teachermregan@torontoheschel.org
MarisaRebyDirector of Development and Community Engagementmreby@torontoheschel.org
MarissaUnruhGrade 5, 6 and 8 Dancemunruh@torontoheschel.org
MarkAbramsohnDirector Business Operationsadmin@torontoheschel.org
MayaLazovskiSK Homeroommlazovski@torontoheschel.org
NechamaDrookmanGrade 5 Judaicsndrookman@torontoheschel.org
OkcanaDubovAccountingodubov@torontoheschel.org
OrlyBorovitchGrade 4 Homeroomoborovitch@torontoheschel.org
OrlySalamonGrade 3 Homeroom, Judaicsosalamon@torontoheschel.org
PazitGevaJK Hebrew Lead Teacherpgeva@torontoheschel.org
RachelTokayerDance and Yoga Teacher JK-Grade 2rtokayer@torontoheschel.org
RachelyTalGrade 1 Homeroom and Judaics Teacherrtal@torontoheschel.org
RenaCohenSk Homeroomrcohen@torontoheschel.org
SarahKanigsbergSK Homeroomskanigsberg@torontoheschel.org
SariHersonGrade 1 Homeroomsherson@torontoheschel.org
SariRipsteinGrade 2 Homeroomsripstein@torontoheschel.org
ShacharLevenVirtual Supportsleven@torontoheschel.org
SharonFurmanGrade 6 Homeroom, Judaicssfurman@torontoheschel.org
ShimonNewmanGrade 5 Homeroomsnewman@torontoheschel.org
ShiraMacmullJK Teacher and Visual Arts Teacher JK-Grade 1smacmull@torontoheschel.org
ShirelleAmouyalStudent Services, COVID Leadstudents@torontoheschel.org covidhelp@torontoheschel.org heschel@torontoheschel.org
YardenBourlasGrade 8 Homeroomybourlas@torontoheschel.org

 

Contact Us