Teachers

Our aim is to nurture our students’ positive dispositions for thinking, working, and inter-personal development by helping them develop a solid understanding of the world around them using a multi-sensory approach. Our teachers are dedicated, curious, life-long learners. They are role models for the diversity of Jewish expression and living that we honour at the school.

What we need more than anything else is not textbooks, but text people. It is the personality of the teacher which is the text that the pupils read: the text that they will never forget.
— Abraham Joshua Heschel

Early Years

Kati Kovari
Kati Kovari
JK Homeroom
kkovari@torontoheschel.org
Kathy Schwartz
Kathy Schwartz
JK Homeroom
kschwartz@torontoheschel.org
Elinor Barak
Shira Macmull
JK Teacher and Visual Arts Teacher for JK-Grade 1
Pazit Geva
Pazit Geva
JK Hebrew Lead Teacher
pgeva@torontoheschel.org
Maya Lazovski
Maya Lazovski
SK Homeroom
mlazovski@torontoheschel.org
Elinor Barak
Elinor Barak
SK Homeroom – Hebrew Lead Teacher
ebarak@torontoheschel.org
Sarah Kanigsberg
Sarah Kanigsberg
SK Homeroom
skanigsberg@torontoheschel.org
Fernanda Danek
Fernanda Danek
Physical Education Teacher for JK-Grade 2
fdanek@torontoheschel.org
Jenny Braverman
Jenny Braverman
Permanent Supply Teacher, Kids’ Club, and Gym Uniforms
jbraverman@torontoheschel.org
Libby Vainshtein
Libby Vainshtein
Grade 1 Homeroom
lvainshtein@torontoheschel.org
Sari Herson
Sari Herson
Grade 1 Homeroom
sherson@torontoheschel.org
Rachely Tal
Rachely Tal
Grade 1 Homeroom and Judaics
rtal@torontoheschel.org

Elementary

Galit Babitsky
Galit Babitsky
Grade 2 Homeroom
gbabitsky@torontoheschel.org
Sari Ripstein
Sari Ripstein
Grade 2 Homeroom
sripstein@torontoheschel.org
Anat Yannai
Anat Yannai
Grade 2 Homeroom and Judaics
ayannai@torontoheschel.org
Hillel Kurlandsky
Hillel Kurlandsky
Grade 3 Homeroom
hkurlandsky@torontoheschel.org
Danya Mintz
Danya Mintz
Grade 3 Homeroom
dmintz@torontoheschel.org
Orly Salamon
Orly Salamon
Grade 3 Homeroom and Judaics
osalamon@torontoheschel.org
Elinor Barak
Malka Regan
Director of Social-Emotional Learning
Grade 4 Homeroom
Master Teacher
Elinor Barak
Orly Borovitch
Grade 4 Homeroom
oborovitch@torontoheschel.org
Elinor Barak
Sefi Chassid
Grade 4 Judaics
schassid@torontoheschel.org
Nechama Drookman
Nechama Drookman
Grade 5 Judaics
ndrookman@torontoheschel.org
Shachar Leven
Shachar Leven
Virtual Support
sleven@torontoheschel.org
Elinor Barak
Aiden Orzech
Grade 5 Homeroom
Shimon Newman
Shimon Newman
Grade 5 Homeroom
snewman@torontoheschel.org

Junior High

Elinor Barak
Sharon Furman
Grade 6 Judaics
sfurman@torontoheschel.org

Amir Gershon
Amir Gershon
Grade 7 Judaics
agershon@torontoheschel.org
Lisa Rendely
Lisa Rendely
Grade 7 Homeroom and Junior High Art
lrendely@torontoheschel.org
Caity Lehman
Caity Lehman
Grade 7 Homeroom
clehman@torontoheschel.org
Dana Cohen-Ezer
Dana Cohen-Ezer
Grade 8 General Studies
dcohen@torontoheschel.org
Yarden Bourlas
Yarden Bourlas
Grade 8 Homeroom
ybourlas@torontoheschel.org
Eric Cohen
Eric Cohen
Junior High Judaics
ecohen@torontoheschel.org
Isaac Hollander
Isaac Hollander
Grade 8 Judaics
ihollander@torontoheschel.org
Lesley Cohen
Lesley Cohen
Grade 6 Homeroom
kschwartz@torontoheschel.org

Art, Music, Language & Physical Ed

Judith Leitner
Judith Leitner
Visual Arts for Grades 1-5, Co-Founder
jleitner@torontoheschel.org
David Rouimy
David Rouimy
Physical Education Teacher for Grades 3-8
drouimy@torontoheschel.org
Dayna White
Dayna White
French
dwhite@torontoheschel.org
Elinor Barak
Aaron Rotenberg
Music Teacher for JK-Grade 3
Josh Winestock
Josh Winestock
Junior High Music
jwinestock@torontoheschel.org
Marissa Unruh
Marissa Unruh
Dance for Grades 5, 6, and 8
munruh@torontoheschel.org